KPIT Announces Winners of 2023 Innovation Challenge

Article By : KPIT Technologies

KPIT Sparkle has been a powerful catalyst for driving mobility and sustainable energy innovation for the last decade.

KPIT Technologies recently hosted the finale of KPIT Sparkle 2023, an annual national design and development innovation contest for engineering, science, and design students, at their Pune campus.

KPIT Sparkle has been a powerful catalyst for driving mobility and sustainable energy innovation for the last decade. The platform brings together mentors and young professionals passionate about mobility and energy. It is building an ecosystem that encourages and inspires budding professionals to solve everyday problems with innovative, sustainable, and indigenous solutions.

Winners of the KPIT Sparkle 2023, which received a total on INR1.1 million, are as follows:

Team Rejuvenators from IIT Kharagpur won the Gold award of INR 5,00,000 for developing an energy-efficient route for the recovery of the metallic values from end-of-life batteries and reusing them for new battery making. For this, they developed a robust hydrometallurgical circuit for selective recovery of metallic values from different types of batteries (LCO and NMC).

Team Waste2Wealth from Government College of Engineering, Jalgaon won the Silver award of INR 2,50,000 for developing W2W Energy, Fuel and Mobility Generation from Innovative Biogas Plant.

Team Propellers from Kalinga Institute of Industrial technology, Bhubaneshwar won the Silver award of INR 2,50,000 for developing a Novel solar electric thruster propulsion system for Nano to Micro Satellite for Indian Space Technology.

Team Energizers from Kongu Engineering College, Perundurai won the Most Popular Award of INR 1,00,000 for Designing and developing an efficient indigenous hydrogen(HHO) generation system by dry cell electrolysis method.

“KPIT Sparkle has touched the lives of over 1 lakh students in India and urged them to innovate on challenges in mobility and energy to make the world clear, smarter, and safer. This has also created an opportunity for talent to immerse themselves in an ecosystem of like-minded individuals and explore their passion for mobility while developing skills and expertise to benefit them in their future careers,” said Ravi Pandit, Chairman KPIT Technologies.

Dr. Anil Sahasrabudhe, Chairman of EC National Assessment and Accreditation Council  and National Educational Technology Forum, was the chief guest at the grand finale event.

The finalists were evaluated by a jury comprising national and international experts from the academic, business, automotive, technology fields along with multiple leaders from KPIT Technologies:

  • Sanjeev Srivastava, Chief Operating Officer (I-STEM) at IISC Bengaluru
  • Siddhartha Mukhopadhyay, Professor and Head, Department of Electrical Engineering and School of Energy Science & Engineering at IIT Kharagpur
  • Pradeep Chandrashekhar, Associate Director/Deputy Chief Engineer at OLA Electric Car
  • A.S. Ravikumar, General Manager – Product Engineering at Daimler India Commercial Vehicle Pvt. Ltd
  • Balkrishna Mahajan, Founder Director, and Principal Designer at Ticket Design
  • Somnath Sengupta, Asst Prof at IIT Kharagpur
  • Milind Rane, Professor, and Head Heat Pump Lab at IIT Bombay
  • Pallavi Bharadwaj, Assistant Professor, IIT Gandhinagar
  • Nisha Singhania, Manager at Altotech
  • Daniel Goldsmith, Lecturer in Ethical Hacking and Network Security at Coventry University
  • Rashmi Rao, Industry Manager – Automotive at MathWorks
  • Shobhit Shrotriya, MD R&D life sciences at Accenture
  • Pritesh Doshi, Head of Mechatronics and Electrification at DANA
  • Vijay Kadam, Head of Commercial Vehicle Business Unit at DANA


Leave a comment